What Should We Be Worried About?

John Brockman, publisher of Edge.org posed this question a few years ago and compiled the responses he got in the 2013 Annual question book of the same title. While and after reading this book, I became more aware of my own worries. In fact, I became more worried. I now understood what that adage ‘Ignorance is bliss’ really meant.

Image Source

So what worries me really? Well, for a start I can perhaps say I am worried about climate change – there are some if not many who share my worry. I dread heatwaves, tsunamis, tornadoes, blizzards, you name it.  I am worried about global water shortages and how this impacts mankind’s existence. At the rate at which the world’s population is growing (expected to reach 9.6 billion by 2050 according to an article on the UN news website) and the rate at which natural resources are being consumed, I am worried that someday demand might exceed supply and who knows what will happen? I am worried about the indiscriminate killing of animals and of course humans. Overfishing, poaching, etc, and mass shootings, bombings, wars, etc,… are enough to give me goosebumps. As if that’s not enough, I am worried about health-related things that emerge almost as if from nowhere.. today it’s ebola, tomorrow it’s the zika virus, yesterday it was methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) and everyday it’s new flu strains and endless zoonotic outbreaks. Is it this century and the past or it has been like this before in past centuries? I am worried about mental slavery. Yes you heard right – mental slavery, especially under the guise of certain causes. Ever watched Mad Max: Fury Road?

There are many problems confronting humanity, including supplying enough food, water, housing, medicine, and fuel for our ever expanding population. – J. Craig Venter

I am worried about there being so many things to worry about… The Singularity – the belief that artificial intelligence will at some point surpass human intelligence. Potential World War Doom – with nuclear wars and extreme terrorism. Embittered and nihilistic individuals who give no second thought to morality and humanity’s existence.  Right now I am worried that if I continue writing this blog I might not have enough time to do my assignments and work.. it’s just a worry.

What are you worried about? What should we be worried about? Should we even worry?

Author: Malvern's Pensieve

Who am I? That's a good question... Who am I? Read on and get some clues..

Leave a Reply

